Postponed to June 28-30, 2021

Registration: To be announced

Posters Submission: To be announced

The 27th International Conference on Arginine and Pyrimidines & the 2nd International Conference on Amino Acids and Nucleotides

The biennial ICAP/ICAN conferences were first organized 54 years ago under the leadership of the late Werner Karl Maas. Once a chance for microbiologists to come together to discuss the emerging field of arginine biochemistry and metabolism. The joint ICAP/ICAN conference has grown to encompass and advance knowledge of not only arginines, but also pyrimidines, amino acids, and nucleotides as they relate to biological processes, health and disease.


The goal of the joint conference is to facilitate interaction and collaboration among attendees. We encourage abstracts from multiple scientific disciplines including molecular and cell biology, biochemistry, structural biology, bioinformatics, genomics, proteomics, metabolomics, bioinformatics, parasitology, drug design and development, translational & clinical research, etc. 

The conference will take place at Chestnut Residence of the University of Toronto in the heart of downtown Toronto on June 28-30th, 2021. Immediately following which marks Canada's 154th birthday (July 1st) where, should you choose, you can indulge in a variety of Canadian festivities and  firework displays.  

We welcome you to register for the Conference by following the links provided above.

Poster and Oral Presentations: Registration and Abstract submission will be announced in December 2020.  

All accepted abstracts can be presented as posters. Please indicate if you would also like to be considered for oral presentation.

ICAP/ICAN Since 1972...

  • 1972       Atlantic City

  • 1973       Atlantic City

  • 1974       Minneapolis

  • 1975       Atlantic City

  • 1976       Brussels

  • 1978       New York

  • 1980      Zurich

  • 1982       Atlanta

  • 1984       Valencia

  • 1986       Jerusalem

  • 1988       Los Angeles

  • 1990      New Orleans

  • 1992       Brussels

  • 1994       Paris

  • 1996       Raleigh

  • 1998       Leeds

  • 2000     Valencia

  • 2002      Cairo

  • 2004      Marburg

  • 2006      Lund

  • 2008      London

  • 2010      Washington

  • 2012       Bogota

  • 2014       Oxford

  • 2016       Granada

  • 2018       Shanghai

International Advisory Committee

​For 2020/2021:

  • Barbara Hanna Zimmerman (Bogota, Colombia)

  • Jilong Liu (Shanghai, China)

  • Vicente Rubio (Valencia, Spain)

  • Santiago Ramón-Maiques (Madrid, Spain)

  • Hiroki Morizono (Bethesda, USA)

  • Ljubia Caldovic (Bethesda, USA)

  • Emil F. Pai (Toronto, Canada)

  • Colin Funk (Kingston, Canada)

  • Lakshmi P. Kotra (Toronto, Canada)


©2020 by ICAP/ICAN.